Stephen Jones: 2014 News
Articles • Awards • Bibliography • Coming Soon • eBooks • For Sale • GoH Appearances • Interviews
Markets • Memoria Archiva • Movies • News • Other Contributions • Publisher • TV & Video
 • Birmingham Independent Book Fair
 • HWA Lifetime Achievement Award Winners
 • Innsmouth Trilogy Available
2014 News

April 2014

Birmingham Independent Book Fair, April 12

Photo © 2014 Sandra Sutton
Left to right: Peter Coleborn, Mike Chinn, Johnny Mains, Stephen Jones and David A. Sutton
Left to right: Peter Coleborn, Mike Chinn, Johnny Mains, Stephen Jones and David A. Sutton
Photo © 2014 Mandy Slater
David A. Sutton and Stephen Jones
David A. Sutton and Stephen Jones
Photo © 2014 Mandy Slater
Johnny Mains and Stephen Jones
Johnny Mains and Stephen Jones
Sponsored by Writing West Midlands, the Birmingham Independent Book Fair was a one-day event held at the city's Ikon Gallery. Offering the public the opportunity to buy books directly from the publishers, around twenty tables showcased everything from self-published fiction and poetry, to established genre presses such as Shadow Publishing and The Alchemy Press.

  •  return to top  •  

February 2014

HWA Lifetime Achievement Award Stephen Jones and R.L. Stine Announced as HWA Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

The Horror Writers Association has chosen two long-time icons of the genre to receive the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award this year. The award, given in recognition of the recipient's overall body of work, will go to Stephen Jones and to R.L. Stine.

HWA President Rocky Wood said, "This is the second year in three we have recognized an Editor with the Lifetime Achievement Award-editing is a crucial skill in our genre, where anthologies regularly showcase the best of horror writing. Stephen Jones, in his capacity as editor of both the annual Best New Horror series and as editor of dozens of stand-alone anthologies and author of non-fiction titles, has had a profound impact on the genre and we are pleased to recognize him with our genre's highest award."

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the most prestigious of the Bram Stoker Awards, given by the HWA in acknowledgment of superior achievement not just in a single work but over an entire career. Past Lifetime Achievement Award winners include such noted authors as Stephen King, Anne Rice, Joyce Carol Oates, Ray Bradbury, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, Ramsey Campbell and Peter Straub. Winners must have exhibited a profound, positive impact on the fields of horror and dark fantasy, and be at least sixty years of age or have been published for a minimum of thirty-five years. Recipients are chosen annually by a committee.

The LAAs will be presented on May 10th as part of the Bram Stoker Awards Banquet at the World Horror Convention 2014 in Portland, Oregon.

For more information, go to:

  •  return to top  •  

Innsmouth Trilogy Available at Special Priced Set while Stocks Last

Shadows Over Innsmouth (1994) Weird Shadows Over Innsmouth (2005) Weirder Shadows Over Innsmouth

While stocks last of Shadows Over Innsmouth (there are fewer than 100 copies still available), Fedogan & Bremer is offering all three "Innsmouth" trade hardcovers at the special set price of $72.00 USD plus single-book shipping and handling charge. For full information and ordering, please go to:

  •  return to top  •  

If you find any errors, typos or anything else worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 2008–2014 Stephen Jones All Rights Reserved Worldwide